latest news


RMCO has openings for qualified violin players. If you are interested or know someone who might be interested please contact Suzanne Beaudry

other information

Members click here to log in

Choose a season to view...

RMCO Work Detail

Title Ancient Airs and Dances, Suite I
Composer Respighi, Ottorino
Contributor's Name Todd Norton
Bio Movements: Belletto / Gagliarda / Villanella / Passo mezzo e Mascherada

In the late 19th and early 20th centuries, musicians became increasingly interested in the music of antiquity. Interest in dance forms flowed directly from this rediscovery of the charms of late Renaissance and Baroque instrumental music. Several prominent turn-of-the-century composers paid tribute to the past generations by composing suites arranged from period sources, or newly composed of the old models.

The three suites entitled, "Ancient Airs and Dances", by Italian composer Ottorino Respighi (1879-1936) are arrangements of dance tunes composed for the lute in the late Renaissance and early Baroque periods. Respighi's adaptations of these dances are distinctly Romantic in orchestration, but, like Grieg, retain the original lightness and grace of the originals.


Work record last updated on 07-19-2004