latest news


RMCO has openings for qualified violin players. If you are interested or know someone who might be interested please contact Suzanne Beaudry

other information

Members click here to log in

Choose a season to view...

RMCO Work Detail

Title Holberg Suite
Composer Grieg, Edvard
Contributor's Name Todd Norton
Bio Movements: Prelude / Sarabande / Gavotte; Musette / Air / Rigaudon

In the late 19th and early 20th centuries, musicians became increasingly interested in the music of antiquity. Interest in dance forms flowed directly from this rediscovery of the charms of late Renaissance and Baroque instrumental music. Several prominent turn-of-the-century composers paid tribute to the past generations by composing suites arranged from period sources, or newly composed of the old models.

Edvard Grieg (1843-1907), Norway's most prominent composer, composed in 1887 a suite for strings in honor of th 200th birthday of Ludvig Holberg, a renown Norwegian playwright. Each movement is based on a popular dance style from the 18th century. The suite "From Holberg's Time" is deeply rooted in Grieg's simple Romantic style, but remains faithful to the rhythm and spirit of the dances on which it is based.


Work record last updated on 07-19-2004