latest news


RMCO has openings for qualified violin players. If you are interested or know someone who might be interested please contact Suzanne Beaudry

other information

Members click here to log in

Choose a season to view...

RMCO Work Detail

Title Five Pieces for String Orchestra, Op. 44, No. 4
Composer Hindemith, Paul
Contributor's Name Ty Thornton
Bio Movements: Langsam (slow) / Langsam; Schnell (slow; fast) / Lebhaft (lively) / Sehr langsam (very slow) / Lebhaft (lively)

The set of pieces on today's program dates from Hindemith's tenure as a professor at the Berlin High School for Music in 1927. The opus 44 Schulwerk consists of four set pieces, each intended for a successively more advanced level of student orchestras. The set of five pieces in the No. 4 was intended for the advanced orchestra, and as such displays all the hallmarks of Hindemith's mature style -- the dissonant approach to tonality, the skillful contrapuntal interweaving of lines, and a careful control of color and texture.


Work record last updated on 07-16-2004